





February 28, 2020

Università di Firenze - SAGAS

Palazzo Fenzi | Aula Magna - Via San Gallo, 10

Public Prosecution and Rule of Law in Europe

9.00

Registration of participants

9.15

Welcome addresses

Andrea Simoncini | Director, Department of Legal Sciences Margherita Cassano | President, Florence Court of Appeal Filipe Marques | President of MEDEL

9.45

General introduction

Nello Rossi | Director of Questione Giustizia and former Advocate General, Court of Cassation

10.15 -11.30

Status, autonomy and self-government of public prosecution:

models and issues at national level

chair Carlo Sabatini | President of Section, Court of Rieti

José Albuquerque | Prosecutor, Lisbon

Alexandra Chaumet | Prosecutor, Besançon

Iria Gonzalez | Prosecutor, Palma de Mallorca

Lampros Tsogkas | Prosecutor, Appeal Court of Thrace

Goran Ilić | Prosecutor, Belgrade; Vice-President of the State Prosecutorial Council of Serbia

11.45 -13.15

Towards a European model. Experiences and perspectives

chair Gualtiero Michelini | Judge, Rome Court of Appeal

Antonello Mura | Prosecutor General, Venice Court of Appeal; CCPE past president

António Cluny | National member for Portugal, EUROJUST

Luca De Matteis | Team leader, OLAF

Alessandro Simoni | Professor of comparative law, University of Florence

14.45

Rule of law and prosecutorial power in Italy: European unicum?

Background, evolution and challenges

chair Ezia Maccora | President of Section, Court of Milan; Deputy Director of Questione Giustizia

Giovanni Salvi | Prosecutor General, Court of Cassation

Giovanni Tarli Barbieri | Professor of constitutional law, University of Florence

Filippo Donati | Professor of constitutional law, University of Florence; Member of the Superior Judicial Council

16.15

Discussion

17.00

Conclusions

Mariarosaria Guglielmi | Vice President of MEDEL and Secretary General of Magistratura Democratica

Simultaneous interpretation will be provided (English/Italian)

Scientific and organising committee

Alessandro Simoni (alessandro.simoni@unifi.it)

Gualtiero Michelini, Mariarosaria Guglielmi, Nicole Lazzerini, Sara Benvenuti Federico Falorni, Matteo Giannelli, Marco Cecchi, Jacopo Mazzuri

